New Haven county. The principal village in this town is pleasantly situated on the Pamperaug, a fine mill stream, which passes through the town. This village is 20 miles N.W. from New Haven and 40 S.W. from Hartford.
The village of South Britain is about 4 miles S.W. from the principal, or central village: it is a flourishing place, containing a number of neat buildings, a carpet and several hat factories. This village is surrounded by high hills and precipices, and has a romantic and picturesque appearance. The surface of the town is generally uneven: there is some good meadow land on Housatonick, Pamperaug, and Shepaug rivers, and the uplands are warm and productive. Some traces of coal have been discovered.
The northern part of the town is called "White Oak," from an oak tree under which the first persons who explored the town encamped. Pieces of this tree are considered by some as precious relics. Southbury was formerly attached to Litchfield county. It was a part of Woodbury, and was first settled about the year 1672. It was incorporated as a distinct town in 1786. Population, 1830, 1,557.